C.04 Motor Wiring Guesswork

Goal: To make the stepper motor rotate by sending pings from the Arduino in the correct order.

The process shown in the video below is as follows

  1. I firstly set out to find documentation online that would tell me the order required to wire up the magnets inside the stepper motor
  2. Failing to find the right order, I elected to wire them randomly and guess the order through trial and error. This was safe since I already knew to ground the white and black wires.
  3. I did not have any stiff wires so I had to twist the loose ends, stick them into the Arduino ports and hope for the best.
  4. I wrote the code according to the instructions I had received.
  5. The first attempt to upload to the board failed because it was connected to the wrong port.
  6. Finally, when I did upload the code to the board, nothing happened…

Afterthoughts

I know that this is either an error with the code or the connection because even with the wires in the wrong order, the motor should still jolt and jump around. Its possible the code is wrong but I believe it to be the way the wires connect to the ports. I will need some stiffer connecting wires to wrap these ones around.


Corrections

Later in the day I asked Spencer for more wires and got given a handful of them, along with a bread board, a resistor and a light sensor.

screen-shot-2017-02-24-at-11-50-19

I was then assigned a new task to make the motor turn according to the presence of light detected by the sensor.

I was also introduced to this thing:

img_2933

Which can be used as a switch when I later introduce more motors and a higher power supply.

Author: Pip Williamson

Pip // Animator & Motion Designer

Leave a Reply

